In “Wicked” Fiyero is….

Fiyero as the Scarecrow

Fiyero as the Scarecrow

I can’t believe it took me this long to finally come around in finding out (had an inkling) that in order to save Fiyero, Elphaba had turned him into a scarecrow. I understand “Wicked” was the prequel to “Wizard of Oz” but I also don’t think the movie touched on it.

My friend was very fortunate to have watched the musical in Manila and in Singapore, which I’m waiting for her blog post on it soon.  It was quite teary-eyed learning what Elphaba had to do and I’m curious now about the 1940’s movie “Wizard of Oz.” Had there been hints the Scarecrow knew the Wicked Witch of the West or the memory was wiped from his mind or I’m just running away with my imagination. 😀 I hope I’ll be able to find “Wicked.”  “Son of the Witch,” “A Lion Among Men” and “Out of Oz,” books at my fave thrift shop.

Hopefully, to have a proper theater experience too if the “Wicked” production returns to the country for another performance. I hope so. I love the songs from the musical too.

Photo credit: Eugenio Siller

Photo credit: Eugenio Siller “Theater Night “Wicked”

3 thoughts on “In “Wicked” Fiyero is….

  1. WICKED is a–let me use the word–“loose” prequel to the original book. I say that because it’s another author’s creative idea of what might have happened before Dorothy found herself in Oz. So don’t look for clues in the original. Maybe the best description would be this: WICKED is a great fanfic! Both WIZARD and WICKED were first books before they became musicals.

    Anyway, I’m sharing you this: WICKEDly Ozsome! Have fun!!!

    (P.S. Spoiler-much ka naman about Fiyero, he he!)
    (P.S. Oh, and I have “Son of Witch”)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

