Writing for Animation, Comics, and Games by Christy Marx

Listening about the world of comics and comic writing  from Let’s Voltron Official Podcast episodes: 2, 7, 2131, 37,38, 39 , and 44 plus an unexpected find at the book thrift shop, which I wasn’t sure if the price was really discounted and sold graphic novels still at the standard rate, I had to pick this.

Ruse

Ruse: A Guide to Victorian to Murder by Mark Waid, because it gave a Sherlock Holmes vibe and I was especially intrigued by the great cover art.

Online, I  also came across “Writing for Animation, Comics and Games” by Christy Marx.,  available for rent on Amazon and I didn’t know she has another book “Write your way into Animation and Games: Create a Writing Career in Animation and Games.” The second book, I’ll rent later or until I finish the first one as I have until January 2016 to finish a 200+ book. lolz.

I’m  enjoying Christy’s book and took notes too just to add my understanding in animation writing. I wish I can find some animated script samples but those that were available at her site were printed copies and no PDF samples.

It was funny because as I read the book , it nettled me why her name sounded familiar and I knew why. She had penned episodes for “Captain Power: The Soldiers of the Future,” which happened to be one of my fave shows too growing up and I think a couple of years ago, the producers of the show arranged a live-tweet session for a Q&A (Part 2  & 3 ) with fans in my other blog.

“The catch here is to have a story idea to pitch with the hope that the editors might actually let you in the door. It’s a tough cold-calling.”

From pg 117 of 224 from “Write your way into Animation and Games: Create a Writing Career in Animation and Games book

The line above caught my attention because I felt I’ll be doing something similar if I’m heading for Rel/Event Part 2 2016.  Hopefully, I’ll be more ready next time, which reminds me, I need to get back to writing the treatments and spec screenplays in between plus a couple of short stories too for a future contest submission.

Rel_2

One thought on “Writing for Animation, Comics, and Games by Christy Marx

  1. Pingback: Those 12 Days of Christmas deals… | rainepagetoscript

Leave a Reply

