Nancy Drew coming to the TV screens?

I found about the news  two weeks ago.  Actress Sarah Shahi  will be taking the super sleuth title under CBS “Drew” show.

I’ve seen Shahi in “Person of Interest” TV show and in the movie called “Shades of Ray” and I guess I’m still lukewarm with it especially, it was mentioned  that this take on Nancy Drew  is “not your mother’s Nancy Drew.”

I’m fine having multi-ethnic actors gaining lead roles and I applaud the forward movement. I guess for Nancy Drew, just being a beloved and iconic character  – I  did wish they kept her like in the books. Nancy was around 18 y.o. to early 20’s age range (nearly college year) solving mysteries in River Heights. *grinz*

I’ve seen  Nancy Drew (2007) movie and while it was great to see Nancy Drew updated ( I even remembered being so excited), it was probably geared for younger teens.

Anyway, this Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew movie fan casting picks brought the original actors the Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew TV series. I had to ask mom and she remembered them. What do you, guys think of the virtual casting choices?

I thought it was spot on having Kelly Blatz as Frank Hardy. I’ve seen him “Aaron Stone” and  I think he can portray the cool as cucumber older brother.  The rest of the cast were good too.

Nancy Drew_Hardy boy

Back in the 1990’s Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys supermysteries kept me company.  I think with buzz about the coming TV series “Drew,” I just found a couple of good sites about exploring the super sleuths. Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys.

 

8 thoughts on “Nancy Drew coming to the TV screens?

  1. “Not your mother’s Nancy Drew”…Hmnn…Looking at her, seems like it. Looks older and I’ll bet there’s gonna be some skin, just how much, I dunno.

    I’m sure di ko na naman masundan ito. Too many series I haven’t seen. I haven’t even update myself sa BONES, NCIS and CSI *sigh* And when it comes to books naman, I’ve just restarted my reading hobby, which might not be good for the baby because I tend to sleep later. Decisions, decisions…..

    Like

    • Maybe you just need to get it all in routine and once you do, it’ll be second nature. One hour Bones, one hour NCIS, One hour reading etc… 😀

      I still have qualms with the new show “Drew.” I would have wanted the Hardy Boys & Nancy Drew movie bringing the original cast though.

      Just hoping for a buzz, I sent a tweet Mr. Shaun Cassidy (actor who played Joe Hardy ) has long transitioned from actor to becoming a TV writer/producer these days. I hope he’ll take interest about the idea and he’ll be able to acquire the TV rights and develop it for a TV-movie under his prodco. 🙂

      I should have hashtag Mr. Parker Stevenson (it slipped my mind) too. Crossing fingers, I hope Mr. Cassidy read the tweet abt the fan casting line-up. 🙂

      Of course, whoever TPTB on these kinds of things will change whoever else they want to be in it, but I’m hoping they’ll be able to tap the three originals. 😀 Similar to what “Smallville” did. They invited actors and actresses connected to the Superman-verse for story arcs. It was so great seeing Christopher Reeve (RIP), Dean Caine and Margot Kidder.

      Oh my gosh, I’m freaking out.. hahah, I just found 2011 clip of Mr. Cassidy singing with his brother a song from a Broadway play, they were doing then. Wow! Mom did tell me he sings. 😀 Here’s the vid

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll try the routine, but with my new responsibilities, it’s gonna be a bit hard, he he. Plus I only get to watch during the weekends when I am at home…Anyway, good l luck about the tweets 🙂

        Like

      • My tweet Mr. Cassidy happened to like was the one w/0 a link to the ND/HB movie link. lolz. I was reacting to a tweet from an actress who liked Mr. Cassidy’s previous singing career forays & I got a beeped he faved/liked the tweet. Oh, well. Will have to think of something inventive for him to consider the movie w/ the originals as his future projects. There was only so much one can fit in 140-character limit. He’s currently producing NBC Emerald City (Yes, Dorothy/ Oz) but I think the premise will be around the wizard. Haven’t read a lot about this yet but I’m hoping TV stations here will pick it up too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

